Page 1 of 1

Change or add background

Posted: Wed Mar 30, 2011 9:03 pm
by itsallaboutmusic
Hi,

Space I want to add an image as the background to prospace. I know it can be done via the colours.css but yours is a bit different. What do I do to an an image as my fourm background?


Thanks hope your move went well.

Re: Change or add background

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:28 am
by spaceace
in colours.css
find
Code: Select all
html, body {
	color: #E7C292;
	background-color: #000000;
}
replace
Code: Select all
background-color: #000000;
with
Code: Select all
background-image: url("location of your image here. leaving the quotes in place");
example
Code: Select all
background-image: url("{T_IMAGESET_PATH}/site_logo_bg.png");

Re: Change or add background

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:09 am
by itsallaboutmusic
Thanks I have another question for you.

What would cause "The Selected Forum does not exsist?

I go to my ACP, Forums then I went to change the name of a forum and the sytem would tell me it took but then you go and look and it did not, further, if I go to create a new fourm no parent it will state it took but then go and check and it's not there. Try to move a forum and it will tell you it moved but it did not. All this is via the ACP.

Go to the main board and everything looks fin i.e. posts etc. But nothing that was created in the ACP is there, not in the ACP not on the board. I re-syched the forums but no luck.

My DB looks fine.

I did uninstall several mods to include removing code from files by hand, I am pretty good at it but I could have chopped something in an ACP file not sure.

Any ideas?

I made back ups, I am wondering if I need to replace all the 3.08 files or do a re-install of 3.08 I do not mind re-stalling my styles and mods rather not but if I have to. I searched 100s of pages on PHPBB 3.08 and nothing i.e. people have the issue they get it resolved but the solution is not posted.

Just for fun I'll PM you my info.

How is the new style coming along?

Re: Change or add background

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:12 am
by spaceace
when you make a new forum, it needs a parent to live in in order to show.

new style is on hold till i get settled from the move :(

Re: Change or add background

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:54 am
by itsallaboutmusic
Ok another question, got the backgrond there but I would liek the forum to float over it vice the entire screen move up and down. i.e. Background fixed.

Re: Change or add background

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 12:00 pm
by itsallaboutmusic
Solved:

[url]background-attachment: fixed;[/url]

Re: Change or add background

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:15 pm
by spaceace
glad you got it worked out. i was moving the last of the stuff from the other house today and i think i'm finally done... at least moving from one house to the other that is ;)

Re: Change or add background

Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 3:23 pm
by spaceace
oh, just for future reference, this should help with background images http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_background.asp