Subdomains and website setting up

Post Reply
User avatar
Gnome!
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 8:26 am
Location: Australia..The worlds Largest island.
Flag: Australia

Subdomains and website setting up

Post by Gnome! » Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:10 am

Am curious as to what the order is for setting up a website in a sub-domain address. Is it the same as setting up ones website Any good tutorials out there that can be followed ? Also any great tutorials for setting up a test site??
Last edited by Gnome! on Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:30 am, edited 2 times in total.

Gnome!

Knows, I have just enough. Enough to make me content, enough to make me want a little more, but if I don't get it, I'll be OK.

User avatar
spaceace
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:30 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Flag: Canada
Contact:

Re: Subdomains and website setting up

Post by spaceace » Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:35 pm

setting up a sub-domain is simple depending on your host. some hosts have an area you can create them and you then create it and wait for that domain to populate which is usually only two minutes or less. some are longer.

then just upload your files to the folder created by your host and point your browser to the new site. if your main site is http://www.livemembersonly.com and you created a sub called ghost, your new site would be under http://www.ghost.livemembersonly.com

hope this helps :D
Last edited by spaceace on Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
if you like my work and would like to contribute to my development of styles, please donate by using the donate button in the header.

Image

Image

User avatar
Gnome!
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 8:26 am
Location: Australia..The worlds Largest island.
Flag: Australia

Re: Subdomains and website setting up

Post by Gnome! » Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:47 pm

Oh this helps greatly but when I uploaded the necessary files (Prosilver as the base then Bluespace as the primary style) they never opened nor was I asked to point the browser to the site. I could get to the link fine but was not able to access the actual site..
Last edited by Gnome! on Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
Gnome!

Knows, I have just enough. Enough to make me content, enough to make me want a little more, but if I don't get it, I'll be OK.

User avatar
spaceace
Site Owner
Site Owner
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:30 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Flag: Canada
Contact:

Re: Subdomains and website setting up

Post by spaceace » Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:29 pm

if you are wanting a phpBB site on the sub-domain, you will have to install it on the new domain.

anyway, pm me exactly what you are trying to do and i will be able to understand better and will get you going in the right direction ;)
Last edited by spaceace on Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
if you like my work and would like to contribute to my development of styles, please donate by using the donate button in the header.

Image

Image

User avatar
Gnome!
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon May 24, 2010 8:26 am
Location: Australia..The worlds Largest island.
Flag: Australia

Re: Subdomains and website setting up

Post by Gnome! » Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:43 pm

yes and no worries :D
Last edited by Gnome! on Tue Feb 26, 2013 10:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
Gnome!

Knows, I have just enough. Enough to make me content, enough to make me want a little more, but if I don't get it, I'll be OK.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest